Good walls make good neighbours

They say Europeans don’t know their neighbours, that they don’t even know each other’s names, and limit the contact to the casual “hello” when they meet on the stairs. I for my part know my neighbours really well. I know which music they like, which football team they support and which nights they reserve to watch the games. I know which computer games they play, when they go to work and what time they come back and I always know when my neighbours are giving a party. If my neighbours are having some trouble in their relationships I am always up-to-date on their problems. I even know how often my neighbours have sex and which ones like it rough. This in-depth acquittance with my neighbours I owe to the paper thin walls in our small European apartments, that conduct each and every noise. I still don’t know their names though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Small European things

Comments are welcome here:

