European weddings are hot

This weekend in Vyšehrad - 37 Celsius in the shade and rising

Vyšehrad, Prague, last weekend – 37 Celsius in the shade and rising

Prague is truly beautiful

Prague is truly beautiful

A couple of months ago a good friend of mine told me he was getting married. I said “Again? Congratulations, make it last longer this time.” His first marriage lasted about a year, so you’ll understand my lukewarm reaction. He said the wedding was in Prague, and that I was, of course, invited. I said “Great, when?”. It was in July. I though he was crazy. But he’s a mate, you know, so what can you do?

Summer in Europe - tourists and tourist traps everywhere

Summer in Europe – tourists and tourist traps everywhere

The sunny weather is good for being artistic with a camera

The sunny weather is good for being artistic with a camera

As much as I enjoy European summers (long daylight hours, wearing shorts, a quiet office), they’re no good for city trips. Tourists and children are all over the place, hotel prices are ridiculous and there’s no air conditioner anywhere to be found. Summer in Europe is also a bad season to get married, as the temperatures are totally unfit for wearing a 3-piece suit.

Charles bridge - the toughest hike I've had in years

Charles bridge – the toughest hike I’ve had in years

My wedding was in August but that was in marine, temperate Holland, and we got real lucky as we were blessed with an ideal weather for it (23 degrees and partially cloudy). But this wedding was in continental Prague and it was hot. Smoking hot. The temperatures got as high as 40 degrees, and although I love my friends and it was great seeing them, we all agreed that this weekend was no fun at all. We couldn’t even get properly drunk, as all the beer we’d drink we’d sweat right out. I nearly died crossing the 500 meters long Charles Bridge at noon.

Prague is a wonderfully beautiful place, but next time someone tells me “I’m getting married in Europe this summer”, I’m going to ask about the location, and if its south of the Polar Circle, I will say “Congratulations, I hope you don’t count on me being there”. In short – planning a European wedding? Think twice about the season.

3 Comments

Filed under Europe, Travel

3 responses to “European weddings are hot

  1. Yigal Liverant

    True that! Double true!

  2. Sorry you had to endure that tropical heat we’ve had these past few weeks.

    But I agree with you, a wedding in summer in Prague may not be the best idea unless you do it in a venue with air conditioning. (i.e. hotel, or private function hall) 🙂

Comments are welcome here:

